Knit together in my mother’s womb

IMG_0492

100412-035121-PM_SARA HOPPER_171134100412-035121-PM_SARA HOPPER_171240

God knew our babies before they were even conceived.  He knit them together in our wombs.  This comforts me.  It means that my Luke was carefully constructed by God.  Even though he did not live on this earth, He was perfectly formed by God and totally known by Him.  I have knit a little bit (although I have never made anything beyond scarves, hats and one oven mitt, so I’m no expert knitter) so this wording particularly comforts me.  It brings to mind soft yarn, careful stitches and a tight coming-together.  It is solid and well-planned.  My Luke was made exactly as he was supposed to be.  What happened in my womb was not random or out-of-control, it was governed by God who makes no mistakes.  God had a purpose and a plan for my beautiful Luke, and for me.

Jeremiah 1:5 “ Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart…”

Psalm 139:13-16  “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.  When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.  All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

Leave a Reply

