So Much Breast Cancer Publicity, So Little Stillbirth Publicity

I find myself feeling a little frustrated at how much breast cancer stuff I’m seeing this month.  I’ve been asked to donate to breast cancer research at least 5 times in the last 2 weeks.  I’ve seen pink things in ads, in stores and on t.v.  It’s everywhere!

It’s not that I think breast cancer is an unworthy cause.  My high school friend/college roommate recently completed chemo for breast cancer and is okay.  I’m glad people are concerned about it.  It just makes me wonder why breast cancer gets SO much publicity and stillbirths get none.  40,000 women die from breast cancer each year and 26,000 babies are stillborn.  That’s not super far off in numbers.  And that 26,000 doesn’t include the much higher number of miscarriages or the incidents of SIDS.  Couldn’t our precious babies garner a little of that attention?  Couldn’t people be asked in stores to donate to research on these things?  I know there is March of Dimes, Star Legacy Foundation, ASAP and a few other organizations who do work in that realm, but it’s so much less publicized.  Breast cancer even has cutesy slogans like “Save the Ta Ta’s”.  What is more cute than a baby?  And yet our losses are largely silent.  No one is making products with specially colored labels for them.  I wish our lost babies could get a little slice of that pie.

In my case, I do not believe that medical science could have saved my Luke because I believe that God chose his time.  They could not find anything wrong with him.  But I do think it’s a cause worth investing in for future babies.

7 thoughts on “So Much Breast Cancer Publicity, So Little Stillbirth Publicity

  1. Or even just awareness that the numbers are so high – I went through two pregnancies clueless, and I consider myself fairly well informed about all things pregnancy and babies.

  2. I have to say that I agree with you…have thought that same thing many times. Pink is everywhere this month, even on big, burly NFL football players. I think the thing about other organizations is that the awareness is more about raising hope – hope for a cure for cancer, celebrating those who have survived, raising awareness of to prevent birth defects, etc. At least it’s possible to focus more on hope than on death, should one wish. The thing about the death of a child is that it’s so final and most people would rather avoid thinking about it altogether.

  3. Amen. It needs attention, even though it’s so horribly uncomfortable to deal with.

    Thinking like someone who spends a lot of time arguing, I think it’s an annoyingly difficult sell to people that haven’t been there, just because it’s so nebulous and it’s hard to believe that it happens. Mention preventing future deaths due to cancer, and people will easily think “Oh, I’ve heard of cancer. It’s bad. We should do this.”

    Mention losses like ours, and they’re so foreign to most people that it doesn’t register as real. I’m guessing that the first step is showing people that it actually happens, which you’re doing right here to some degree.

  4. I tagged you in my post for the Sunshine Award. I am only telling you this if you WANT to do it (can’t remember if you did it already), and because I wrote beside each entry, why I chose that blog…although since I am newer to blogging, I am also newer to figuring out how to follow, so, yeah, some are more in-depth reasons, while others aren’t so much 🙂 Thank you for being an encouragement in my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

