Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease??

My school secretary called me to tell me there is a kindergartner on campus who has hand,foot and mouth disease and is contagious with open sores.  She wanted to warn me away from going in the cafeteria or other common student areas for the next 2 weeks since I am pregnant.  The office staff and the nurse are very upset that this student is being allowed to be at school while contagious, but they were told because the student has a doctor’s note and no current fever, they have to let him stay.  Really?!  Hand,Foot and mouth disease like cows get or is that just foot-and-mouth disease?  Just another example why working in a school is a crazy experience sometimes!  Geez.  I hope none of the other little kids get it. Hmmm, couldn’t I use this as an excuse to take some time off work?;)  I wish, but at least spring break is only 2.5 weeks away.

11 thoughts on “Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease??

  1. Haha, this made me laugh. Both of my boys have had hand, foot and mouth and I remember thinking it was the same one that the cows get! Most kids actually get it at least once during childhood. It is REALLY contagious so I can’t believe they are letting that kid be at school! Maybe you should take some time off. I think it’s a great excuse 🙂

    • Really?! I had not heard of any people I knew having it. Where have I been. It was one I used to joke about as a far-fetched thing like, “Oh, you must have foot-and-mouth disease” or the Hanta virus. Craziness. Oh dear, I have so much to learn about parenting.

      • Well, if it makes you feel any better, when Liam had it as a baby and his pediatrician told me it was hand, foot and mouth disease I immediately thought he was talking about mad cow disease. Talk about a dumb dumb 🙂 I knew it was somehow connected to a disease that cows had and that was the first one that popped into my head.

  2. So it’s not foot and mouth? Why are there such random illnesses here? Like ‘slapped cheek’? And pink eye? I swear we don’t have them at home…

    • You’re right, those are random and silly names for things, huh? I actually read about ‘slapped cheek’ and was afraid one of my students had it as her cheeks would get really pink sometimes. I even asked my perinatologist if that could have been something that cause Luke’s death if I’d been exposed to it. Seems silly now…

      • I was exposed to it – is the only reason I know what it is – but they don’t think it’s what killed Taidgh – I actually think I was exposed when I was little, as it can present as arthritis in adults, and my mother had what the thought was RA, but then it suddenly went away…

  3. Wow! I can’t believe that he would feel ok to go to school or that his parents would put others at risk of ‘catching’ it! Be careful and wash your hands a lot! I definitely don’t miss being exposed to all the germs schools have to offer!

  4. I can not believe they would allow that!! As a parent I would be throwing a fit. We though My husband had fifth’s disease (slapped cheeks) when I was 12 weeks pregnant with our oldest. I was terrified! Luckily it just turned out to be an antibiotic allergy. Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

